Arcs / Alcs / Review Copies · Book Reviews · Contemporary · Young Adult

📝 ‘Excuse me while I Ugly Cry’ by Joya Goffney | Book Review

I wasted so much time living in fear that I thought I was comfortable, but I was writing in a cage that I didn’t know existed, making lists of all my worries with no intent to do anything about them.

Publisher : Published May 4th 2021 by HarperTeen
Genre : Contemporary Romance/ Young Adult/ Coming of Age
No. of Pages : 368
Purchase Links : Amazon

My Rating : 4/5

If you are looking for some feel good coming of age contemporary that has a lot of diversity, great friendships and some drama and lots of sassy back and forth, then pick this up! You’ll definitely enjoy it!

✨ 10 Reasons why I love Excuse me while I ugly cry


✏️ The concept of losing a personal journal that served as an outlet to overflowing emotions. I loved Quinn for doing that and losing it as well.

✏️ The eccentric, chaotic life of Quinn, the characters and the diversity it represented, the heavy topics discussed including cyber bullying, racism, blackmailing and the messy family relationships with a kick-ass mom.

✏️ The friendship between Quinn and Olivia. *Chef’s kiss*

✏️ Stubborn characters and quick comebacks and witty dialogues with some angst thrown in as well. I loved the banter between Carter and Olivia. Olivia was the best.

✏️ The kind of Coming of age story that tells people that it’s okay to mess up and become a laughing stock. It just makes you stronger and makes you priorotize yourself more.

✏️ The relationship between Olivia and a certain other character . Omg they were so cute and full of silent drama and I lived for it.

✏️ The character development and the kind of writing style that makes you want to re-read part of the book and dialogues to cherish the meaning and the emotion behind it. Plus you get a hearty laugh at 2 a.m. in the morning.

✏️ The ending that makes forgiving much easier. Whether it be for someone else or for yourself. The kind of ending that makes you think ‘Oh, I think I finally am ready to accept that I don’t have everything figured out, and that’s totally okay!’.

✏️ The hotheaded MC who made me laugh more than she realized and the smirk filled MC who made me wish more foe them.

✏️ The kind of lists included in the Journal. Like Hello?? I would love a list of movies to binge watch, or OTP’s to cheer for or to make a bucket list and just do it!

Blurb :

Quinn keeps lists of everything—from the days she’s ugly cried, to “Things That I Would Never Admit Out Loud,” to all the boys she’d like to kiss. Her lists keep her sane. By writing her fears on paper, she never has to face them in real life. That is, until her journal goes missing…

An anonymous account posts one of her lists on Instagram for the whole school to see and blackmails her into facing seven of her greatest fears, or else her entire journal will go public. Quinn doesn’t know who to trust. Desperate, she teams up with Carter Bennett—the last known person to have her journal—in a race against time to track down the blackmailer.

Together, they journey through everything Quinn’s been too afraid to face, and along the way, Quinn finds the courage to be honest, to live in the moment, and to fall in love.